2018 has been a huge success for Danish cycling. So many bright stars has shown their potential at the World Tour.

The election of Danish Rider of the year in Ballerup Super Arena December 28 2018, was a close call.

Best of Them All

Best of them all was Michael Valgren from Pro Team Astana.

With victories in both Amstel Gold Race and Omloop Het Niuewsblad, and ending 4th in Tour of Flanders, the 26 years old rider from Thy was almost obvious for the honor, despite the other rider’s great performances throughout the year.

Michael Valgren winning Amstel Gold Race 2018 on the Argon 18 Gallium Pro (photo: bettiniphoto.net)

Unfortunately, Michael Valgren did not have the opportunity to receive the prize personally at Ballerup Super Arena, so in his place was Ole Iversen, who is the chairman of Valgren’s former club Thy Cykelring. Michael Valgren thanked for the honor with a video greeting at the big screen in the Arena.

Michael Valgren has for two years been riding for Pro Team Astane and will change to the South African Team Dimension Data in 2019.

Ole Iversen, chairman of Thy Cykelring, recieving Michael Valgren's price
Michael Valgren with a video greeting to the audience in Ballerup Super Arena

Strong Argon 18 Field

The field for Danish Rider of the Year in Denmark has rarely been as strong as in 2018, including a U23 World Champion (Mikkel Bjerg at the Time Trial), a Tour de France stage winner (Magnus Cort with stage 15), Amstel Gold Race winner (Michael Valgren) and we could keep on listing the big results from the Danish riders.

The nominees was:

  • Michael Valgren
  • Magnus Cort
  • Amalie Didriksen
  • The Danish 4000m Track Team
  • Mikkel Bjerg
Four out the five nominees has been riding Argon 18 in 2018. Michael Valgren and Magnus Cort at Pro Team Astana and Amalie Didriksen and the Danish 4000m Track Team at the track.
The Argon 18 Electron Pro track bike

Photos: Bettiniphoto.net and Peter Ebro // United Cycling